Autumn Invitation: Attachment and Mindfulness

W. Jesse Gill, Psy.D.
5 min readOct 19, 2023
Photo by Yoksel 🌿 Zok on Unsplash

Bright blue and swirls of white

The autumn sky dazzles my eye

Horizontal rays illuminate tree and barn

Bright reds, oranges, and yellows cling to dancing limbs

A visual feast for my soul

— Jesse Gill

Autumn is in full force in the Northeast, and this morning I longed to be a part of it. Concerns for loved ones with illness and other cares of the past week were resting heavily on my mind. I needed some moments to center myself in the “here and now,” bathe my senses, move my body, and connect with my Creator.

These are the truths that I teach in classes and writings, and I personally attest that they are a gift for my soul. I believe that they are a gift to all of us. This morning my mindfulness practices of movement, gratitude, and prayer were the vehicles that uplifted my mind and strengthened my God Attachment.

Attachment and the Present Moment

We are created for connection, from the moment we are born we are totally dependent on our caregivers for warmth, touch, soothing, and provision. We can’t regulate our body temperature, much less our central nervous systems, so we cling to the arms of ones who would tenderly care for us.

--

--

W. Jesse Gill, Psy.D.

Dr. Gill is passionate about marriage therapy and Attachment Theory. He conducts therapy, workshops, and trains other counselors. www.facetofaceliving.com